For immediate release: 1 December, 2017
Issued on behalf of: World Rugby

Four teams rise to the top in Dubai as Cup quarter-finals confirmed

Reigning series champions South Africa were one of four teams to achieve a perfect record on day one of the men's Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby Sevens 2017.

The Blitzboks join England, Fiji and New Zealand as unbeaten sides heading into the last eight after a day full of top quality rugby under the Dubai sun.

Neil Powell's South Africa are on track to defend their title in Dubai and will face Samoa in the Cup quarter-finals. Fiji, 2015 winners in Dubai, will face Scotland while New Zealand play Kenya. England, series runners-up in 2016-17, face off against Australia.

South Africa entered the tournament with their most experienced side ever and explosive forward Chris Dry says they are going to start from scratch on day two.

"We're very happy with the outcome today," he said. "There are a few things we're going to work on and a lot of things we can rectify ahead of tomorrow. We need to cut out some of the mistakes, but it's been a good day. We'll bag it and start from zero tomorrow."

The Challenge Trophy quarter-finals will be Canada v USA, Wales v France, Argentina v Uganda and Spain v Russia.

Rights Free Images
Media Releases
Documents and Resources
Head of Communications, World Rugby
T: +353-86-8520-826

Follow us on for latest updates

World Rugby, World Rugby House, 8-10 Pembroke Street Lower, Dublin, D02 AE93, Ireland